Fare thee well, RPG Maker

So, it’s come to this.

I’ve had a long, hard think (the really reflective kind, with whiskey and melancholy music) and I’ve come to a sad conclusion. I don’t want to develop games anymore. There, I said it. A massive weight has lifted from my shoulders.

It’s hard for me to say this, but RPG Maker no longer holds any magic for me. Now that I have a job and my writing to think about, it’s seeming more and more like a chore to work on something that can’t sustain itself anyway. With Legionwood 2 I took my first foray into commercial development to see if I could earn something from something I once loved doing, to see if I could find a way to justify continuing to do it. The response to Legionwood 2 exceeded my expectations. In some places, it did very well and brought my games to a whole new bunch of fans. In other places, though, it hasn’t done well at all, and this has made me realise that my heart just isn’t in it anymore.

I just don’t have it in me to compete in the “big leagues”.

If it were up to me, I probably would have stopped doing this ages ago. I think the only reason I even still use RPG Maker is because I promised that I’d make Legionwood 2. It would have been a disservice to everyone who played my games and made them so popular if I simply abandoned it and left the story unresolved. I’m a writer, after all: it’s my duty to see a good story through to the very end. And after all that, I still like Legionwood 2. I think it’s a good game, but it could have been much better. I rushed through to the end simply because I wanted to get it over and done with. I should have realised then that this just isn’t for me anymore.

And that’s it. It’s that simple. Legionwood 2 was my first commercial game, and it will also be my last. I’ve decided from now on that I’m going to focus on my writing career. Telling a story was always my favourite part of RPG Maker anyway. It’s time to cut out the stuff I hate doing, and devote my time to the good stuff.

Does this mean there will never be a Legionwood 3 or a completed One Night 4? Not necessarily. The best parts of those games were the stories — and stories can always be revised and retold in a different way. There may well be more adventures to come in the Dark Gaia Studios universe… but they definitely won’t be in the same medium (and if someone does want to finish off One Night 4 as a game, I’m more than happy to assist them).

If I’m going to spend my free time doing something, it has to be something that I love. That isn’t RPG Maker. Not anymore.

Comments
7 Responses to “Fare thee well, RPG Maker”
  1. Giving up on us eh? Don’t worry lad, take as much time as you need. We all suffer through a burnout stage from time to time. You’ll be back when you’re ready.

    • dgrixti says:

      I think it’s that I’m a little freaked out because I haven’t properly worked on my second novel in ages. I just want to take a year or two away from RPG Maker and focus on my writing. Who knows — maybe I will play around with One Night: The Beginning or something when I have a particularly inspirational day. I probably won’t be as vocal about my projects though. If something does come out, it definitely will be a surprise to everyone. I don’t want to start something I won’t finish, so you won’t hear anything until when (if) I do finish something.

      • geelw says:

        http://twinery.org/ may be something you can use to combine writing and some interactivity if you feel like doing something more with your writing. It would be cool to see a new story that’s “playable” from you at some point… 😀

      • dgrixti says:

        I have considered doing something like a visual novel at some point, or a point and click adventure game. It’s less about the gameplay and more about the story — I could get behind that.

  2. busteded says:

    Hello, Dark Gaia, I’ve left you a reply you might be interested in at http://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?/topic/27193-tips-on-dealing-with-steam/page-5

    I’d write it here again, but it’s a long text lol.

    Thanks,

    by BustedEd

  3. busteded says:

    Hello Dark Gaia, I don’t know if the last message I sent got through or if it just needs some kind of confirmation from your side, either way I’ll say it again.

    I left you a comment on your topic over at the RM forums, you might find it interesting, if you’d like go check it out: http://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/index.php?/topic/27193-tips-on-dealing-with-steam/page-5

    Cheers!

    It’s the comment by BustedEd

    • dgrixti says:

      Thanks for the comment. I appreciate the positive words, but I really have been wanting to stop making games for a while now. I feel guilty because I’m not working on my writing, and the fans of my first book have had to wait almost two years for another. At the moment I’m burned out with RPG Maker… who knows, once I’ve gotten up to speed with my writing, I may want to play around in it again?

Leave a Reply

