New Year’s Resolutions

In just over 24 hours, I’ll be celebrating the end of 2012. Although in some ways this year has been a disappointment (the Mayan apocalypse I was eagerly awaiting didn’t happen, for one — though you can still experience the end of the world in my book, and increasingly tough university assignments are never a good thing), it’s been good to me as a writer and I’ve fulfilled many of the goals I set for myself this time last year. Looking back, I can safely say that 2012 was definitely a victory in my war against procrastination.

Last year, I told myself that 2012 would be the time when I’d finally get serious about my writing. I gave myself the goal of building up my publication history; first, some short stories in a few magazines, then (if I was lucky), a full length novel. Somehow, I managed to fulfill both of those resolutions, and I learned a lot about myself and the writing craft along the way. I’ve launched my first novel, experienced editing from both sides of the pen and met a lot of people who, just like myself, are trying to take their writing as far as possible.

In this sense, New Year’s Resolutions are the perfect way for a writer to set things into motion. This is the time of the year when people decide what they want out of the next twelve months and how they’re going to improve their lives. As writers, our livelihoods depend on our own self-motivation, right? Ask yourself what you want to achieve, stay focused on it, and do your best to stick to it. Even if you don’t end up meeting your goal, you’ll still have done a lot more than you would’ve if you hadn’t even tried.

So, here are the resolutions that I (as a writer) want to achieve in 2013. If you’re looking for a good way to fight off procrastination, you’re welcome to give them a try, too.

  1. Get into a regular writing routine. I’ve blogged before about how this helped me finish my novel in time. This year, I’m hoping to get into the habit of writing at least 1000-2000 words every day.
  2. Manage my online presence a bit better. Here’s hoping for at least one new blog post each week and two new Tweets every day.
  3. Finish off my current projects before starting work on anything new (that’s Legionwood 2 and my second novel, Vectorspawn).
  4. Get at least three two short story/anthology/magazine publications (preferably paid).
  5. Release another novel (okay, we’re kinda pushing it here, but it’ll prompt me to work on it a little more).

There. Those are my writing goals for the New Year. Bet I won’t manage to do them all? Challenge accepted!

Please have a safe and happy holidays, and I’ll see you next week in 2013 with another blog post (because it would kind of suck if I failed Resolution #2 so quickly, wouldn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

