Early Christmas presents

Merry week-before-Christmas, everyone! I was intending to hold off this week’s blog post until the weekend when I’ll have the time to sit down and do it justice, but in the meantime, I received an early Christmas present in the mail yesterday, so I thought I’d chime in with this tiny update.

Sometime yesterday, the author-discounted copies of Sun Bleached Winter that I ordered from Damnation Books to use as Christmas gifts for friends and relatives (plus two copies for myself – one for reading and the other to never be touched) arrived, and I came home this morning to find them waiting for me.

This is them stacked together on my coffee table:

IMG_4650

After narrowly avoiding having a heart attack from the excitement of actually holding a book with my name on it (and not, you know, just saying I’m a writer to sound cool), I couldn’t resist flipping through to see what wonders awaited inside.

IMG_4653The text size was a little smaller than I expected (somehow Damnation Books have fit a 41,000 word novel onto 118 physical pages of book, which makes the book about as thick as a long novella) though the writing was still clear and the margins aren’t cramped. For the most part, the formatting was well done, and the spine of the book was nice and tough and probably won’t fall apart any time soon.

I flipped to the back and found a picture of yours truly inside, taken right from my Twitter:

I'll probably regret that photo in five years.

I’ll probably regret that photo in five years.

There’s even a barcode and RRP prices on the back!

IMG_4652

So, after typing all that up in a fit of excitement and uploading a bunch of random pictures, I’m aware that this isn’t a very useful blog post outside of a cleverly disguised shameless plug. However, it’s not every day that you get to open up a package containing print copies of your first novel, so I couldn’t resist sharing the experience. After more than a year of writing this book, finally being able to see it and touch it feels so surreal, and this has been an amazing learning experience for me. Seeing all of my efforts pay off and enjoying all of the support and feedback from my fans makes all of the hard work more than worth it, and it’s moments like this that remind me of why I wanted to be a writer in the first place.

See you on the other side of the holidays!

###

Want a copy of Sun Bleached Winter for your very own? You can exchange your hard earned cash for one here.

Comments
One Response to “Early Christmas presents”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

